MY ACHING FEET!

I spent the day in Manhattan yesterday, and walked and walked.  I arrived in Penn (34 st and 7th Ave.) Station, proceeded up to the New York Public Library at 42nd St. and 5th Ave. , took a tour of an exhibit and then walked around the building (stairs involved), walked to Times Square to visit my daughter, and then walked up to the Metropolitan Museum of Art on 5th Avenue and 82nd Street, spent a few hours there looking at exhibits (stairs involved yet again), forgoing a taxi ride or mass transit decided to walk back down to Penn Station – took a “short cut” on 72nd Street through Central Park that I thought would leave me across town and more downtown, but instead left me across town (yeah!), but back on 72nd Street (Boo!).  By the time I sat down on the train my feet were swollen and my hips and legs were screaming. I sat on the train for the 45 minutes that it took to get home dreaming of taking off my semi practical shoes and determined to find a far more practical pair before my next walking adventure tomorrow.

Before your next walk, or if you need information regarding your feet, visit MedlinePlus for general foot health, diagnosis and treatment, specific conditions such as Athlete’s Foot, diabetic foot, foot injuries and disorders, heel injuries and disorders, nail diseases, and so much more.

One interesting site I discovered was from the American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society. Information provided included foot health, foot injury, foot hygiene, but also included information on foot wear; How to “Read” your shoes, How to assess your shoe IQ, How to lace shoes for proper fit, how to select children’s shoes, and how to select the right athletic shoes.

An example of “How to “Read” Your Shoes” (Source: American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society)

Wear on the ball of the foot:

Your heel tendons may be too tight. Stretch with heel raises.

I am going home today after work and “Reading my shoes,” and taking care of my aching feet.

 

posted by – Susan, Health Reference Services


This entry was posted in American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society, Athlete's Foot, Foot Care, Foot Injuries, Footwear, Health information, Health Reference, MedlinePlus, Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

