Forget the Fads – Get Healthy and Stay Healthy

http://www.syossetlibrary.org/research/healthI haven’t posted in a while, but if you visited just after Thanksgiving and read my post “Post Thanksgiving Regret” you know that I’m on a get healthy kick.

I have used the excuses you’ll find there.

                      • It’s too cold out to continue my daily walking.
                      • I’m embarrassed to join a gym because I don’t know how to use the machines.
                      • Gyms are too expensive.
                      • Walking on a treadmill is boring.
                      • etc.

I know that I have, but I think this time I may have overcome some of them.  I’ve decided to not stress about my goals and take it easy on myself.  I know that we’re only 7 days into the new year, but so far I’m on track.

  • I’ve set up an exercise schedule and, for the most part, I’m keeping to it.
  • I’ve replaced the unhealthy snacks with fruits and vegetables.
  • I eat when I’m hungry.
  • I’m eating smaller portions.
  • I stop eating when I’m full.

Have you decided to become more active?

I hope the answer is yes.  If so, how are you doing?

For helpful information regarding Exercise and Physical Fitness visit MedlinePlus.

Be Active Your Way: A Guide for Adults has been prepared by the Dept. of Health.

Here are two examples from this pamphlet:

  • You can doe more by being active longer each time.  Walking for 30 minutes, 3 times ahttp://www.syossetlibrary.org/research/health week? Go longer – walk for 50 minutes, 3 times a week.
  • You can do more, by being active more often.  Are you biking lightly 3 days a week for 25 minutes each time?  Increase the number of days you bike.  Work up to riding 6 days a week for 25 minutes each time.

Tip: If you have not been this active in the past, work your way up. In time, replace some moderate activities with vigorous activities that take more effort.

As always check with your health professional before starting any new activity.

posted by – Susan, Health Reference Services

health-reference21-3

This entry was posted in Be Active Your Way: A Guide for Adults, excercise, Health information, Health Reference, MedlinePlus, MedlinePlus Exercise and Physical Fitness, Physical Fitness, Syosset Public Library. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

